58th Annual Mine Rescue Competition

June 08 / 2015

58th Annual Mine Rescue Competition

Yellowknife, NT (June 8, 2015) – The Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission (WSCC) of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut invites Northerners to witness the challenges mine rescue teams encounter, as they strive for excellence during the 58th Annual Mine Rescue Competition.

The annual event takes place Friday, June 12, and Saturday, June 13. Mines from the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Yukon, and British Columbia will compete for the Overall Surface and Overall Underground Trophies. Seven teams from six mines are participating this year: Ekati Diamond Mine – Dominion Diamond Corporation; Diavik Diamond Mine – Rio Tinto; Snap Lake Diamond Mine – De Beers Canada; Meadowbank Gold Mine – Agnico Eagle; Minto Mine – Capstone Mining Corporation; and New Afton Mine – New Gold Inc.

Mine rescue competitions allow mines to evaluate and compare the effectiveness and quality of their mine rescue training programs. Teams participate in the spirit of competition and collaboration to understand how other teams work, while testing their own mine rescue skills.

Skill competitions include Written Test, Surface Practical Bench, Underground Bench, Fire Fighting, Underground Obstacle, Smoke, Rope Rescue, First Aid, and Surface Obstacle. Judges evaluate each event, which range from simulated disasters to safety equipment checks.

WSCC invites the public to take-in the action Saturday, June 13, at the Yellowknife Community Arena from 8:00 am to 3:00 pm.

The competition coincides with the NWT Chamber of Mines’ Miner’s Picnic from 12 noon to 3:00 pm.


For more information contact:

Kim Walker
Manager, Communications
Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission
Northwest Territories and Nunavut
T: (867) 920-3846